My Yoga Do-Over

I really, really want to like yoga. But every time I go to a class I get annoyed with the sheer volume of sun salutations, over and over and over. I think it’s supposed to be meditative, but to me it’s just irritating. All I can think is, “Ok, I’ve saluted the sun. Move on, already!”

For years I have dealt unsuccessfully with my own inability to quiet my mind during yoga. I’ll just say it: I’m a yoga failure. But so many people I know credit yoga with both physical and mental fitness, that I’m starting to think I just haven’t given yoga a real chance.  I mean, if Adam Levine, who is notoriously hyper, can quiet his mind during yoga, then I should be able to as well. I think.

So just as I was challenging myself to try yoga again, a blogger friend who writes a great blog about positivity, reached out to me to tell me about a free 12-Day program guide  combining yoga and gratitude from My Yoga Online that she thought I might be interested in. I took it as a sign from the universe telling me that now is the time to start doing yoga regularly in order to cultivate gratitude. I don’t know why I hadn’t made the connection between yoga and gratitude before. On December 10th, when the guide goes live, I’m going to start following it for all 12 days. During this time, my house will be going on the market, I’ll be helping my in-laws move, and I’ll be preparing for all the chaos of the holidays. If there’s every a time to learn to quiet my mind and focus on gratitude, it’s during these next few stressful weeks.

Image

Soon this will be me…
Photo via Flickr Creative Commons courtesy My Yoga Online

If you’re a former yoga failure like me, maybe you should join me. All you need to do is sign up for the free membership option at My Yoga Online and you will be able to access the program guide. Two more days. The countdown has begun and I’m gearing up for yoga-induced gratitude!

12 thoughts on “My Yoga Do-Over

  1. Having practiced yoga for nearly two years, I have chosen to find other methods with which to calm myself and seek inner quiet. I do not consider myself a yoga failure by any means. It just isn’t for everyone and with so many other ways to achieve similar desired outcomes, why beat oneself over a practice that doesn’t “fit” you. Onward! :)

    Like

  2. I totally understand. It’s frustrating but it’s exactly the annoying repetitiveness that puts you into that state of moving meditation where your mind switches off and you start to relax and just “be”. Yogis call this state “inaction in action”. All the best, maybe yoga grows on you :)

    Like

  3. I’ve always struggled yoga too apart from the Iyengar style. And I think that’s it, maybe you just need to find the right style for you. As long as I can calm my mind in other ways I’m good with it BUT I’ll still check out this program. I have missed it this time around but maybe in the new year they’ll do another. Good luck! And I’m interested to hear how it all goes.

    Like

  4. How are you doing with the yoga? I always want to share my yoga story with people because I absolutely detested it before I loved it. I think the right type of yoga and a good teacher make all the difference. I had taken a few classes off and on, but I never felt like I got anything out of it. I would walk away from the class feeling like I had just wasted an hour (sometimes more) of my time. Then during a particularly stressful period at work, my coworker and I signed up for a once-a-week eight week series. I began to get it. The teacher was lovely and patient and really emphasized “going with your feelings” during the practice. For instance if you found yourself tense and frustrated, she suggested going into a comfortable rest pose rather than struggling — child’s pose usually and she told us to try to imagine the tension melting away. I completed that series and not long after hurt my knee snow-skiing. I couldn’t do any high impact exercise so I decided to try a yoga class. Again, I got an amazing teacher. This time it was Iyengar yoga, which can be intense since there’s so much focus on proper alignment, but because of my knee I stuck with it and am so glad I did. Lately I do a lot of yoga videos on YouTube and only about 30 mins/3-5xs a week, but for now it works. And, it may just not be your thing, and that’s okay. I was happy to see you back. Hope all is well.

    Like

    • I’m so glad yoga has worked out for you! I have to admit I’m still struggling. One of the most difficult things to deal with are my knee and shoulder injuries. I’ve had surgery on both and so many of the positions are not comfortable and actually hurt. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing and I should keep at it and it will get better or if it will actually make it worse. So I’m kind of at a standstill with yoga. I think I want to try the more gentle/stretchy kind, whatever that’s called. Thanks for your encouragement!

      Like

      • I’m sure it’s hard with a shoulder injury and your knee. Lately I’ve been perusing YouTube and have found quite the variety of yoga videos — intense to super-gentle. Some days — okay most days, I don’t want to go to an actual class and the internet works well and helps me stay consistent. For now anyway….

        Like

Leave a Reply

