Feeling Appreciated

As a freelance writer, I often receive payments in my mailbox after completing a client’s resume or Linkedin This is a picture of the outside of an envelope with my name and the words The Best Freelance Writer underneath, which left me feeling appreciated.profile or finishing the edits of their book. Of course, I’m always grateful for the checks. And sometimes clients will attach a sticky note to the check saying how pleased they were with my work. I love when that happens. I was not expecting what I received in the mailbox today, however, and it had me feeling appreciated for the rest of the day. A repeat client sent in her check. On her envelope she had written my name and then underneath, “The Best Freelance Writer.” The fact that it was written in purple pen was even more uplifting. Then there was the beautiful flowery stamp. Not just your regular American flag. What a gift my client gave me. Probably without even realizing it.

Why Feeling Appreciated Can Make All the Difference at Work and at Home

In a blog post on Forbes.com, Margie Warrell says, “In my work in organizations and in my life beyond it,  I’ve yet to meet a person who felt over-encouraged, over-appreciated or over-praised. I do however,  regularly encounter people who feel just the opposite.” Warrell challenges readers to make a daily habit of encouraging others by being generous with deserved praise.

Tony Schwartz writes in a Harvard Business Review blog post that “Feeling genuinely appreciated lifts people up. At the most basic level, it makes us feel safe, which is what frees us to do our best work. It’s also energizing. When our value feels at risk, as it so often does, that worry becomes preoccupying, which drains and diverts our energy from creating value.”

And what about in personal relationships? Lack of appreciation is often the straw the breaks the camel’s back. No need to link anywhere on that tidbit. That’s from my personal experience.

After feeling appreciated all day because of four words on an envelope, I am eager to help others feel the same way. After all, words are free. I’ll start with my husband tonight.

Who can you lift up with words?

4 thoughts on “Feeling Appreciated

  1. Words are so important, Julie, and so many people just don’t get it. I recently wrote a post about people who insist “it’s just words.” As a manager, I try to express appreciation and praise with each member of my staff on a regular basis. I also thank my wife constantly, daily. After all these years, she still gets embarrassed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

